Clocking up the Miles with Peta Miller

Peta Miller on completing her challenge, getting some ‘miles behind the brush’ and reviving old favourites:

FINISHED…..Finally finished the last picture on Sunday. What can I say…. it’s definitely been an adventure. I set out to do something really different from my own work which is mainly abstract and about the land…especially remote Australian areas. So for this project small was already a challenge for me as well as the time frame. I then decided to work in a more representational style which was actually quite fun. As I have just returned from overseas I chose two favourite places but very different places to paint. Broadway in Manhattan and Marrakech, Morocco. This took care of the first 20 and the last 10 are of home.

I found despite pushing myself in another direction I couldn’t change the essentials. Try as I might to be a less is more artist, I seem destined to be a more is more one! With the hours in the studio I discovered how much you can actually do if you set your mind to it. I am always saying to students that at the end of the day it’s the ‘miles behind the brush’ that make a difference. And it’s true, the more we paint the more we paint…and learn about what we can do with paint.

Another bonus was listening to my entire record and cd collection…reviving old favourites I hadn’t listened to in some time like Fleetwood Mac, Steely Dan, Supertramp, Seals and Crofts……..but it was the Mamas and the Papas that got me over the line. So its backings today, photographing then I am done.

Thanks and good luck to those still creating……….although I may be the last.

See you on the big night.

Peta Miller

1 thought on “Clocking up the Miles with Peta Miller

  1. I loved the range of emotions from ahhhhhh!!! to wow!!!!! to yay!!!!!!! I thoroughly loved this challenge and would definitely recommend it to everyone. I would do it again for sure. Can’t wait to see all your works:) Skye

Leave a comment