Collage of Emotions … Leanne Fry

Leanne Fry talks of her mixed emotions and the challenge of opening her creative process to discover new possibilities.

Wednesday 8th August 2012

This is definitely a CHALLENGE …

When I signed up for this exhibition I was excited, nervous and energised. Now that I have commenced the challenge I am experiencing these emotions all over again.
I was very excited when I was collecting up my mono-printed papers and collage materials. I was nervous when I took the 30 canvases out of their box. I was energised when I set up my workspace in readiness to get stuck into creating.

But perhaps the biggest emotion I am experiencing is feeling challenged. I have found that because I want to remain open to “letting go” and exploring new possibilities that I have been experiencing doubt.

I guess because I have exhibited my paintings many times now I know what to expect. I feel comfortable with the painting process. But with this challenge I have decided to explore collage more as the main content of my work (instead of the usual by-product) and it is challenging, bewildering and confronting. I am working with colours outside of my normal palette. I am investing a lot of energy into creating beautiful pieces individually. But I must admit feeling a little daunted when I start to line them up alongside each other. Let’s hope the pieces “talk” nicely to each other once they are all lined up on the 15th September!

One thought on “Collage of Emotions … Leanne Fry

Leave a Reply

