Challenger 14 – Megan Fraser

From Behind Curtain 2, we are excited to announce that Megan Fraser has commenced her challenge.  From her Darlington studio Megan will create a painting a day for 30 days.  Megan describes her challenge:

With this challenge I would like to explore pure symbols.  I use symbols often in my artworks, but as a small part of the overall painting, not the focus.  This time the challenge will be to make the symbol work by itself as an object of art in its own right.  I look forward to exploring how to do this, and still make each work attractive and able to evoke an emotional response.  I am fascinated by the emotional effect certain symbols can have on people due to cultural background, prejudices and personal experiences.  For example, a symbol of a pentagram can have a very different effect on two people; one may see it as negative, the other, as positive.  I will be using 30 symbols from around the world, some recognisable, some not, and create each one into a work of art that will hopefully delight and inspire!

3 thoughts on “Challenger 14 – Megan Fraser

  1. Just been into my studio, and have found that the drying of liquid nails (for texture) and background paint will be an issue. Will spend today preparing canvases, as well as have one work finished by the end of the day.

  2. Looking forward to seeing the symbols Megan. I too am fascinated with the effects different symbols have on us. I often think they are like a secret language used by us purposely (eg marketing and advertising) or incidentally in our own personal expression. Good luck with it all.

Leave a comment