Challenger 9 – Roslyn Blackburn

From Behind Curtain 1, we are excited to announce that Roslyn Blackburn starts her challenge today.  From her Kingsley studio Roslyn will create 30 artworks in 30 days.  Roslyn describes her challenge:

“I would like to use this opportunity to work in a more experimental style to add depth and mood to a storybook or illustrative style of painting. I’d like to weave a story for those who want to linger. I will develop subtle colour using layers of paint overlays to build form and texture. These textured works normally take days to develop, by working on a smaller scale I can work on several works each week to develop the coloured and textured backgrounds I use as a base for my work. Then I should achieve the painting I need to complete in a day. The idea of using a theme of animals or birds and figures appeals where the viewer can make their own interpretation of a story within each individual work or the overall collection of 30 pieces.”

Leave a Reply

